Weekly Presidential Address – 12/26/09

I am a big fan of the weekly presidential address. Not always a fan of this president, but a fan of the way that information is disseminated in this administration. This weeks address focused on the troops, on their sacrifices, and on the sacrifices that their families make. As a country, and as individuals, we are encouraged to do all that we can to let our troops know that we appreciate their effort.

This is a timely message, and was addressed well. (BTW –I am happy to see the closed captioning that has been added to the addresses.) What provoked a very negative response from me to this weeks presentation was the fact that Michele Obama was included in the telecast. I do not like her, and my opinion is more than likely not going to change. (On a tacky note – at least she was wearing sleeves.) The idea seemed to be to present a solid “from our family to your family” feeling, which went over here like a lead balloon!

I am all for honoring our troops (I was US Army myself for 10 1/2 years), and I am all for helping military families – but I do not need Michele Obama trying to tell me how to do this! Okay, that is an exaggeration, but not by much.

Off my soap box, and on wit my day! 😉

© December 2009 Bonnie Cehovet

Leave a Reply

