Review – SoulInterviews.com

A little over a year ago the Soul Tracks site (http://soultracks.com) came to my attention. Following one of their links, I was introduced to one of the best music industry interview sites that I have ever seen – Soul Interviews (http://soulinterviews.com), founded by DJ Soulswede (Souly).

This is a non-profit site, with the individuals that volunteer for it working their own “day jobs”, and willingly sharing their love for and knowledge of the soul music world. DJ Soulswede himself comes from a musical family. In the mid 80’s he suggested to the manager of a local radio station in Sweden that he air a show dedicated to soul music. Thus the one hour show “Soul Power Radio” (later known as “Soul Food Radio”) was born. The show featured Soulswede’s own unique selection of soul and funk music. The show received a lukewarm welcome, at best. At worst, he received threats while on air, and had to leave the station by the back door.

He also did an interview for a very well respected show on The Swedish National Radio called Soul Corner, interviewing Robert “Kool” Bell and Dennis “DT” Thomas of Kool & The Gang. He interviewed other artists, including Tyrone Davis, BeBe & CeCe Winans and Mitch McDowell of General Kane for his own local radio show. Soulswede was a young man interviewing known artists who came to respect him for his vast knowledge and deep love for the music. For Souly, music is all about credibility, about honesty and a strong melody. This shows through clearly in his interviews.

 Other team members include Armand Tulumello (Astral22 – songwriter, producer, music journalist and label founder),  DJ Funk-O-Nots, She Kent (artist and writer, Book and DVD recommendations), Gabriel Rich (Starchild 7 – Senior Writer  Music Recommendations), SoulCuts (Music Recommendations), Katharina Rumpf (Junior Write, Music Recommendations), Carter Burnette (Editor of the Soul Chronicle), Chris Campbell (Editor of Progressive Underground), Nathan Johnson Jr. (Head of A&R/Production/The SoulInterviews Show), Simon Phillips (Webmaster), Deardra Shuler DEA (Editor of Music Pastures), Louis Johnson (Special guest interview with Al McKay), and Tanisha Jackson (Contributing Writer).

Connected with this site is Sky Digital Channel 0129 and Solar Radio (http://solarradio.com). The show is heard on Sundays at 9 pm EST in the United States, and Monday at 2 am GMT in the United Kingdom. There is an extensive archive of shows on the Soul Interviews site. The show airs for two hours – the first hour of the current show (11-29-10)  includes music from Sunshine Anderson, Mo Pleasure feat. Maysa, Bashiyra, Nathan Watson and Eugene Wilde. The second hour is classic hour, with music from Freddie Jackson, The Isley Brothers, Chris Jasper, Mikki Bleu and more.

Current interviews include the following:

Note: Each interview is in audio and text format.

Kendrick Jackson – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/577-kendrick-jackson-swe.html

Chris Jasper – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/573-chris-jasper-swe.html

Demetrius Price – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/569-demetrius-price-swe.html

Rena Scott – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/563-rena-scott-swe.html

Lenny Williams – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/556-lenny-williams-fon.html

Darnell Kendricks – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/530-darnell-kendricks-swe.html

Will Downing – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/517-will-downing-swe.html

 Keith Sweat – http://soulinterviews.com/interviews-archive/463-keith-sweat-swe.html

Both Indies and major labels can be found on this site. It is a tremendous resource for soul music, and to get to know the individuals involved on a very personal level.

 For updates on interviews, please subscribe to DJ Soulswede on Face Book – http://www.facebook.com/pages/DJ-Soulswede-Interviews/167270233306541, or follow him on Twitter – @SoulInterviews. He can also be found on Solar Radio – http://www.solarradio.com/djsoulswede.aspx.

 © December 2010 Bonnie Cehovet

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s