Full Moon In Virgo

On March 19th we see the full moon in Virgo. It is also what is termed a “Super Moon”. Not being an astrologer, I am just going to give the bottom line on this one – the moon will be the closest to earth that is has been in twenty years on the day of the full moon. What does this mean? It means that we need to watch for natural disaster, such as earthquakes and volcanic eruptions. We have already seen this in the tragedy that is occurring in Japan. What I would also note here is that there seems to be a high degree of tension and anxiety on a general level – not connected with the earthquake and tsunami in Japan.

Personal stress levels will be very high – stop and think before you speak or act. Expect that whatever has not been working in your life – especially on an emotional level … well, it’s going to surface into consciousness and need to be dealt with.  Be very careful not to be too judgmental. Consciously ground and center yourself, note what needs to be balanced within you, and make the effort to do so. Put that little nay-saying inner critic on hold for the duration!

With the Sun in Pisces and the Moon in Virgo, there is tension between working with minute details and seeing things as a whole. A happy medium needs to be found here. Your practical self and your emotional self need to at least have a nodding acquaintance at this time. This is a time to connect with universe, and release built up stress. Take time out throughout the day to take a few deep breaths, center yourself, and let go of the things from the past that are holding you back.

The full moon is a time to release the shadows in  your life and take your power back. Embrace them, and let them go. Allow yourself to feel the freedom of being co-creator of your own future. I drew one card for this full moon, asking what energy would help us to understand it. From Kat Black’s “Touchstone Tarot”, I drew the Nine of Cups (good card, but I was hoping for the Happy Squirrel!). Our wishes will be fulfilled – we will find the happiness we are looking for.

(c) March 2011 Bonnie Cehovet

6 comments on “Full Moon In Virgo

  1. tamasin66 says:

    This is a lovely read and really interesting, thank you.

  2. Tamasin –

    Glad that you enjoyed this post! I am not an astrologer, but I do honor the Moon cycles. I grow as I write them. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  3. Thanks for this, Bonnie! Very helpful! Like you, I’m not an astrologer (though I’m interested in systems that track and interpret the cyclical nature of our existence). The last several full moons have been hard on me — I won’t go so far as to say traumatic, but certainly full of turmoil. I’m frankly dreading the Super Moon. (I actually get an excessive amount of moonlight in my house — the living room has a two-story ceiling, and the moon shines through one set of windows as it rises and then the opposite windows as it sets. Hey, I wonder if someone has invented moonglasses — like sunglasses, but designed to filter out the harmful rays of moonlight!)

  4. Dear Professor:

    Happy to see that you dropped by! I agree about watching the cycles. The cycles of the moon, the cycles of the seasons, and Maiden/Mother/Crone work just fascinate me!

    I think a lot of us have been going through intense turmoil. It is all part of getting us ready for the next turn of life. 😉

    I would so love to have your living room to do ritual in! 😉

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  5. dknowles24 says:

    Thank you – nice level. I’ll keep reading.

    Very good point about merging of opposites, with all the energy generated from our tension what a better time to take back our power.

    Stay centered –

    🙂

Leave a Reply

