World Tarot Day 2011 – A Time To Reflect

Images is from the “Tarot Lovers Tarot”, by Karyn Easton. http://paranormality.com/.

From my perspective, the World Tarot Day concept has devolved over the past couple of years. Last year I gave readings on Twitter, as did several of my friends. That was the right thing to do then, but something different is called for this year. At least for me, it is. I need to take a step back to truly honor this day. I need to re-evaluate what Tarot means to me, how I can best express it in my life, and how I can best honor it. I choose the Hanged Man deliberately to represent World Tarot Day 2011 for me. He is quite the fellow – suspended in time, by choice, until he gets a good look at the bigger picture of his life. We must remember that this gentleman can get up (or let himself down, as the case may be), and walk away at any point in time.

While there is a sense of losing (or simply not having) power in this card, we gain power by allowing ourselves to “go with the flow”. We need to enter the world of patience, and be willing to wait for things to settle down, gain clarity, and show us what our next move needs to be. This is certainly where I am with the celebration of World Tarot Day. I am redefining my place within the Tarot world, and what Tarot can be – to me, and to others.

My conscious world has been suspended, while I adapt internally to the changes around me. I honor the world of Tarot in this way – searching to see how I can be an empowering citien, and, in turn, how I can empower others. Questions that I ask myself are:

1. What have I been sacrificing to continue in the world of Tarot as I have been?
2. What am I putting on hold? How long has it been on hold?
3. What am I not wanting to see about the connection between the world of Tarot and myself?
4. What do I feel is limiting me in my Tarot work? Is it actually limiting me?
5. Am I being true to myself?

A gift to each of you on this day: a link to a German site featuring the Kipper oracle cards referred to on the “Individuum Universal” site – http://www.wasserfrau.com/Kipperkartenbedeutungen.htm. There are scans of each card (and they are gorgeous cards!), with an accompanying explanation in German. Enjoy!

(c) May 2011 Bonnie Cehovet

7 comments on “World Tarot Day 2011 – A Time To Reflect

  1. […] Visit link: World Tarot Day 2011 – A Time To Reflect « Bonnie Cehovet […]

  2. I didn’t realize today was World Tarot Day, so I’m glad I found out. I like the idea of taking time to step back and reflect. I’m feeling the Saturn Retrograde — I moved since the last one and am now doing what I love full-time, but having growing pains/changing certain client situations to fit my bigger vision for the future.

    Honoring World Tarot Day will help with that.

    Thank you!

  3. Devon –

    Happy to see you here! Wishing you well with your professional “growing pains”. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  4. Vivianne says:

    Ah ….you also need The High Priestess for this veiled post 🙂 Very thought provoking- thank you 🙂

  5. Vivianne –

    LOL Veiled, but perhapsnot so veiled. It was the truth – t his is where I am. Trying to make a graceful transformation. 😉

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  6. Chloe says:

    Lovely post and some very thought inspiring questions there – thank you!

  7. Chloe –

    Thank you for the kind words! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

