Tarot Birth Card Pairs: Tower/Chariot

Over the next year I am going to be writing about Tarot Birth Cards, what they mean and how we can work with them. I use the system of Tarot Birth Cards developed by Ruth Ann and Wald Amberstone of the Tarot School (www.tarotschool.com). Using the Seeker’s birth data (month, day and year), pairs of birth cards are defined. (For more information, and to calculate your own Birth Cards, go to http://tarotschool.com/Calculator.html.)

Please note: I have a book being published by Schiffer Books in fall of 2011 – “Tarot, Birth Cards and You: Keys To Empowerment” (http://www.schifferbooks.com/newschiffer/book_template.php?isbn=9780764339028), incorporating images from Karyn Easton’s “Tarot Lovers Tarot”. This was to have been a joint project (book and deck published together), but the decision was made to publish both separately, which I find very exciting! Karyn has a Birth Card calculator up on her site, where you can also view her incredible deck (it really is!) –http://paranormality.com/tarot-birth-card-calculator.shtml.

A special thanks to Leisa ReFalo http://www.tarotconnection.net, who developed the Birth Card Calculator, and graciously gave us permission to use it.

Our seventh pair of Birth Cards are the Tower (Key 16) and the Chariot (Key 7). Some of the associations for these cards are:

The Tower:

Astrological Sign: Mars

Keywords: spiritual awakening, sudden/unexpected change, chaos, abrupt change in life structures, “lightening bolt” of wisdom, frustration, anger, fear, freedom from restrictions, setbacks, suppressed anger, clearing that which no longer serves you well out of your life, unwillingness to let go of established structures.

The Chariot:

Astrological Sign: Cancer

Keywords: self-control, victory, triumph, confidence, faith, mind over heart, depending on yourself, making use of your skills/abilities, over-confidence, recklessness, scattered energy, anger, rebelliousness, inflated ego.

The Theme for this lifetime is that of releasing ego and old structures, grounding yourself in the present and the day to day of life.

We can choose to do personal work with our own Birth Cards, we can use Birth Cards in conjunction with a reading for a client (place their birth cards, drawn from a deck other than the one you are reading with, above the spread(s) laid out for them). The spread(s) are then read through the lens of perception of the Seeker’s Birth Cards. As added value, a reader could give their client scans of their Birth Cards, along with a short write-up about them. Readers can also use the Birth Card system to better understand other people in their own lives (family, co-workers, friends etc.).

The key to bringing balance to any lifetime is that of understanding how and where your Birth Cards are operating in your life. The Tower and the Chariot represent the two aspects of the gateway into a 16/7 lifetime. The Tower is ruled by Mars, placing focus on intense, warrior like energy – the energy that it takes to bring old structures down. (Note: The structures we are referring to here are ones that man has put in place himself – religious strictures, boundaries set by governmental law, and boundaries set by culture.) The Tower is an intensely active energy, expressing the need for things to happen in a very immediate manner. The Seeker does not have control over themselves or their environment here.

The Chariot is ruled by Cancer, placing the focus on home and family. The need for close personal relationships is shown here. It is important to pay attention to the day to day of life, make informed decision and take decisive actions. This is where the Seeker balances his or her emotional and intellectual selves. This is also where we see the union of our Higher Self and our Spiritual Self.

The Tower and the Chariot set the tone for this lifetime. The path that the individual walks is one that addresses the lessons of how they express control in their life, and how they bring about a sense of balance. The Tower with its Mars-like warrior energy blasts away at the structures in its environment, and insists on charging ahead quickly. The Chariot carries a gentler energy, seeking to balance life by maintaining control of impulses and actions. Change is still the result, but change that is brought about by informed decision making and actions.

A 16/7 (Tower/Chariot) individual empowers themselves by balancing the need to release non-functional social structures and establish new social structures (the Tower) with the areas of self-control, self-discipline and self-confidence (the Chariot).

The Tower and the Chariot work together to release the hold of the ego. The Tower brings abrupt change, blasting apart personal structures that are no longer serving the individual well. The Tower brings a spiritual awakening, as old beliefs and habits are released, and shadows faced.

The Chariot teaches self-control and self-discipline. Here we see a balancing of intellect and emotions, the development of self-confidence and a sense of personal direction. The ability to use your own skills and abilities to take you past all challenges into success.

Images from the “Tarot Lovers Tarot”, Karyn Easton, 2008, paranormality.com.

© July 2011 Bonnie Cehovet

14 comments on “Tarot Birth Card Pairs: Tower/Chariot

  1. Corniss says:

    I have had Isues with my Birth Card ever since I found out wha it was a few months ago. I did the calculations over and over, and even checked them on Lisa ReFalo’s site. And I am NOT a math incompetent. But neither of the cards “fit” me, nor do they seem to match with the tye of challenges I continually face, not least of which being the challenge of my own personality.

    I never felt this way about my Sun Sign, or about my other cards, but the Birth Card just does not fit. Now what?

  2. Corniss –

    I have never had anyone tell me this before. My first thought might be that your birth data was incorrect. I know – that is impossible, but IMHO ou Birth Cards do reflect who we are.

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  3. Corniss says:

    January 16, 1961= 01+16+1961=1978
    1+9+7+8=25
    2+5=7

    For as long as I can remember, 5 and 25 have been my “lucky numbers”, so that makes intuitive sense.

    I was born between 01:00 and 03:00 (I don’t have my birth certificate, but my mother was always very clear that I was already over my new age every birthday when I woke up in the morning.)

    I will do some introspecting, but of all the birth card combinations, this would have been my last guess. I will ask my sister what she thinks; she has known me over my whole life and is both sensitive han honest. She’s a Lovers/Devil and it FITS.

  4. Corniss –

    I am wishing you well on this journey! I did have to laugh at your sister fitting her Birt Cards! 😉

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  5. Corniss says:

    For your academic interest, this is what my sister thought about the applicability of my Birth Cards, or lack thereof:

    “these phrases do NOT sound like you:

    sudden/unexpected change
    over-confidence
    inflated ego
    recklessness
    abrupt change in life structures

    these phrases sound pretty much on-target:

    spiritual awakening
    self-control,victory, triumph, confidence, faith,
    mind over heart
    depending on yourself
    making use of your skills/abilities

    as for your birth hour, i seem to recall from childhood discussions that you were born sometime in the early morning hours, maybe 6am? this sticks in my mind because i was born after 9pm, and thus could not legitimately celebrate my birthday until after bedtime, while YOU, you eager beaver, could celebrate from the moment your feet hit the floor in the morning.

    hokie dokie??”

    Indeed, without her, i would be the Last of the Mohicans. Her Birth Cards are the Lovers and the Devil. Over and above the various decriptions of this type, what struck me hardest (and which I have not seen mentioned) is that she has been struggling for years with co-dependent issues.

    I cannot imagine a more vivid, concrete pictoral of that than these two cards.

  6. Corniss –

    Thank you very much for your feedback! As far as which phrases apply, and which do not – this describes where you are in the cards – at which end of the spectrum. For you, from your sisters viewpoint, you are very evolved. 🙂

    As we learn our life lessons, we learn to express the best energy of each of our birth cards, and to keep them in balance. 🙂

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  7. Corniss says:

    We’re working on it. When I get too uppity, my sister reminds me of the time when I hit her on the back with a Dr.Scholl’s wooden clog. A 10 of Swords moment her, for me, probably 5 of Swords…

  8. Corniss –

    Good heavens! That was definitely a bad moment for both of you!

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

    • Corniss says:

      Well, she was around 9 and I was around 11, and we have developed, shall we say, more refined ways of solving disagreements. If we did that now, they’d throw us out of Starbucks.

  9. Corniss –

    I certainly hope that you have dveloped more refined ways of communicating! 😉

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  10. Corniss says:

    I should think this chronology of our recent e-mails proves we have, thank G-d! 😉

  11. Corniss –

    Starbucks thanks you too! 😉

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  12. sean says:

    I’ve just become interested in the tarot cards and finally made my first connection. the tower is my father’s personality and the chariot is my mother’s. I have the very distinct tower tendency as In my deviant yet bull In China shop approach. I’m a chaos junky and sometimes let it take control. But right as I’m at the breaking point or bottom, my other half (the chariot) takes over, I smack myself and say what the hell were you thinking ?! I step back regain reality and by the skin Of my teeth somehow strategize and regain my ground. I find a path that leads in succes grab the reins and push myself to the top again.

    Your reading on this was perfect and really made me think of the person I can so easily let myself become. If I didn’t have that balance I’d be a freight train derailed. Thanks again!!

Leave a Reply

