RIP Roger

Rainbow Bridge

Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

 

When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

 

All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing: they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

 

They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

 

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face: your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

 

Then you cross the Rainbow Bridge together.

 

Author Unknown

 

This is in honor of my long haired Orange Tabby, Roger. I went to bed last night, exhausted beyond belief. I thought he was in the house. I heard a rustling outside of my bedroom window – as if an animal had pounced on a smaller animal. They were no yowls, no cries at all. I was too tired to go check – and at that point, I could not have done anything anyway.

 

I got up this morning, and Roger was not in the house. I looked for him, I called him – he rarely leaves the area around the house, and never stays outside overnight. I am sure that Roger is gone. I have taken up his food dishes … tomorrow I will take the kittie litter boxes out.  I hope that he will return, but I know that he won’t.

 

I have no idea why this had to happen, and there is a large hole in my life. Roger could be a real pain, but he was also very loving. He will be missed.

 

Roger, may you walk with the Fool on your journey, accompanied by the Empress and the High Priestess.

 

© June 2011 Bonnie Cehovet

19 comments on “RIP Roger

  1. mystereum says:

    My deepest heartfelt condolences, Bonnie, to You and Yours for Roger. May your remembrance be strong with the life you each blessed one another with.

    My deepest heartfelt condolences.

    Namaste,
    Jordan & Merc

  2. Oh Bonnie, I am so utterly sorry to hear of this. My heart goes out to you and Roger. I send a little prayer your way – I hope it reaches you.

    My deepest sympathies,
    Theresa

  3. Jet Aluna says:

    Bonnie, there are no words I can say that will convey how sorry I am to hear of your loss. I am very attached to my animal friends and losing one is so sooo hard. It was good you found each other… Roger was lucky to have you as his forever person. ((((((Bonnie))))))

  4. Helen says:

    I’m very sorry Bonnie.

  5. Nefer Khepri says:

    My dear Bonnie, I am so very, very sorry for your loss. I know how difficult it is to lose a furry child, having lost several myself over the years. You never forget them & carry them forever in your heart. I know the Rainbow Bridge is real. My mom saw it before she died. She saw my dog there waiting for her, wagging her tail & when the time came & a nurse was with her, she said my mom’s last words were, “Hey, Desi! OK, I’ll go with you.” Then she peacefully died. The nurse had no idea Desi was my dog’s nickname (short for Desiree). Roger will be there for you, as well, just as all our furry friends will greet us when our time comes. Much love to you both ~ Nefer

  6. judy says:

    Much love- Roger will be waiting for you, but in the meantime- don’t be surprised if he sends you a new friend.. all of my dear ones have sent me another who needs me..

  7. Jordan – Thank you so much – this is all very difficult. Theresa – Thank you for your prayers! ❤ Jet Aluna – Thank you for the kind words and hugs! 🙂 Helen – Thank you for being you! 🙂 Nefer – Yes, the Rainbow Bridge is very, very real. 🙂 Judy – I have already put out the thought that I do not want another pet. I am of the age that I don't want to have whoever handles my estate have to find a new home for my pets. Blessings to all of you! 🙂

  8. Bonnie, I’m so sorry to hear about your cat. I hope he surprises you and does return. Pets are so special… such close friends.

  9. judy says:

    Sorry, Bonnie- I don’t feel that Roger shares your sentiment.
    xo

  10. Biddy – I hope he returns also – but I don’t expect it. Judy – LOL Roger always had a mind of his own!

  11. judy says:

    If he doesn’t return- Roger will exercise his right to send in a designated hitter!

  12. Judy –

    I really do not want another pet at this time. I just need to be alone. 😉

  13. judy says:

    Being alone may not be what you Need..
    xo

  14. Judy –

    Being alone is exactly what I need right now. 🙂

  15. debbie says:

    Sending love and light…

  16. TarotDude says:

    Bonnie,

    I am so sorry to hear about your beloved pet – my deepest condolences. I lost my cat who I ihad for 21 years recently so I know how painful it can be. Until you both meet again at the Rainbow Bridge….

  17. Anonymous says:

    Debbie – Thank you! 🙂

    TarotDude – Thank you, and condolences on your loss. It is something that we do not get over easily.

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

  18. Corniss says:

    I am so sorry to hear about Roger’s passing. I’m sure his life with you was good. He sounds like he was a grand old kitty. May his memory be for a blessing.

  19. Corniss –

    Roger was a dear kittie that often tried my patience! 😉 He was also way too young to go! I still believe he was hit on by a predator.

    Blessings,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

